[MUSICDork]Huli na el Bimbo

TIME: noon

MOOD: content

I love Eraserheads. The few times I was able to visit the Philippines when I was younger before relocating here permanently . I would play eraserheads on my walkman in the airport till right before lift off. It was a little bit of home that I would hum in my head till my tone deaf ears could no longer remember the melody.

Although I couldnt comprehend what they were saying generally the melody and cadence was so familiar that I liked it anyway. Now years later, I can actually comprehend the music I have decided to do a little translation of one of the songs the Eraserhead songs always confused me.

After learning the language properly , I now understand why I was so confused.

I translated this phonetically for the native English speaker . Learning Tagalog through  Eraserheads is actually fun. Add a little Parokya ni Edgar and maybe some Apo Hiking Society, kidnap a friend with a guitar on cloudless summer night, bring some ice cold beer, and you will find it  is a rather  pleasant way to spend an evening.

HULI NA EL BIMBO

INTRO

Kamukha mo si Paraluman

KAH(a is pronounced like the a in tank )-MOO-KAH MOH( o is pronounced like o in bore ) see  pah-rah-loo-mahn

-you look like Paruluman*  ( actress : Sigrid Sophia Agatha von Giese 1940’s -1960’s )

No’ng tayo ay bata pa

NOH-NG ( ng is pronounced like n in finger and sink ) TAA- YOH  EYE BAA-TAH  PAH

-When we were young

At ang galing-galing mong sumayaw

AAT  A-NG (ng prounounced like ng in ring) GAH-LEE-NG( i  prounounced like see ) GAH-LEE-NG    MOH   SUE-MAA-YAO

and you are masterful at dancing


Mapa-Boogie man o Chacha

MAA-PA  BOOGIE O CHA-CHA

whether the boogie or the the cha-cha

Ngunit ang paborito

NG( ng pronounced liked the ng in wing)-OOO-NEAT  AAH-NG PA-BA ( pronounced like the a in talk )

But my favorite

Ay pagsayaw mo ng El Bimbo

EYE PAHG-SA-YAO MO  NAA-NG EL BEAM-BOH

is your dance of the the El Bimbo

Nakakaindak, nakakaaliw

NAA-KAA-KAA-IN-DAA-K  NAA-KAA-KAA-AH-LEE-EEW ( iw prounouced like ewww )

Intimidating, Amusing

Nakakatindig balahibo

NAA-KAA-KAA-TEEN-DIG  BAA-LAA-HEE-BOH

it makes the hair in the back of my neck stand

REFRAIN 1


Pagkagaling sa ‘skwela ay didiretso na sa inyo

PAA-GAA-LING  SAA SKOO-WEH-LAH  EYE DEE-DEE-REH-TS/CHO ( ts is pronounced somewhere in between the ts in cats and ch in chew )

after I come from school I go straight to your place

At buong maghapon ay tinuturuan mo ako

AAT  BOO-OOO-NG  MAG-HAA-POHN  EYE  TEA-NEW-TOO-ROO-ANN

an all afternoon you are teaching me

CHORUS


Magkahawak ang ating kamay at walang kamalay-malay

MAG-HAH-WACK   UH-NG  AAT-TING  KAA-M-EYE     AAT  WAA-LAA-NG (ng like the last part of wing )  KAA-MAA-LIE  MUH-LIE

holding hands without cognizance and understanding

Na tinuruan mo ang puso ko na umibig na tunay

NAA   TEA-NEW-ROO-ANN  MOH  AN-NG ( ng like the ng in finger ) POOH- SAW  KOH  NAH  OOO-MEE-BIG  NAA  TOO-NIGH

you taught my heart to love a true love

Naninigas aking katawan

NAA-KNEE-KNEE-GUS  AA-KEY-NG  KAA-TAA-ONE

my body is rendered imobile

‘Pag umikot na ang plaka

PUG  OO-MEE-CAUGHT  NAA  AA-NG  PLUH-KAA

when the record is turning


Patay sa kembot ng bewang mo

PAA-TIE   SAA  KEM- BOT  NUNG  BEH-WUNG  MOH

slaughtered/killed by movement and sway of your hips


At pungay ng ‘yong mga mata

AAT  POOH- NG ( ng like the ng in wing ) -EYE  NUNG  EE-YOUNG  MAA-NGAA   MAA-TAA

and the twinkle in your eyes

Lumiliwanag ang buhay

LOO-MEE-LEE-WAH-NUG   UH-NG   BOO- HIGH

life is brighter

Habang tayo’y magkaakbay

HAH-BUNG   TAA-YOY   MAAG-KAA-AACK-BYE

while we are in each other’s arms

At dahan-dahang dumudulas

AAT  DUH-HUN  DUH-HUNG  DOO-MOO-DEW-LASS

and slowly slipping

Ang kamay ko sa makinis mong braso, hooh

AA-NG  KAA-MY  KOH  SAA  MAA-KEY-KNEES-MOH-NG (ng like in ring)  BRAH-ZOH ..HOOOH

my hand on your smooth arms, hooh

REFRAIN 2

Sana noon pa man ay sinabi na sa iyo, hoh

SAA-NUH  NEW-ON  PAA  MAAN  EYE  SEE-NUH-BEE  NUH  SAA EE-YOH

I wish I told you a long time ago

Kahit hindi na uso ay ito lang ang alam ko

KAA-HEAT  HEE-N-DEE  NAA   OOH-SOH  EYE  EAT-TOH  UNG  AAH-LUM  KOH

even if it isnt fashionable, this is all I understand and know

[Repeat CHORUS]

La la la la, la la, la la, la la la

Lumipas ang maraming taon

LOO-MEE -PAA-AH-S   UH-NG  MAA-RA-MING  TA-ON

the years have passed

‘Di na tayo nagkita

DEE  NUH  TAA-YOH  NUG-KEY-TAH/TUH

we dont see each other anymore

Balita ko’y may anak ka na

BUH-LEE-TUH  KOH  NAA  M-EYE   AH-NUCK  KAA  NAA

I hear you have a child


Ngunit walang asawa

NG( ng like n in finger ) NEW-NEAT   WUH-LUNG  AH-SAH-WAH

but without a spouse

Tagahugas ka raw

TUG-HOO-GA-AHS  KAA R-OWW ( oww.. like when you get hurt)

I hear you are a washer

Ng pinggan sa may Ermita

NUH-NG  PING-GUN  SAA  MY  ERR-MEET-TAH

of dishes at Ermita

At isang gabi’y nasagasaan

AAHT   EE-SUNG-GUH-BEE-EEW  NUH-SAA-GAH-SAA-AH-ANN

and one night you were run over by a car


Sa isang madilim na eskinita, hah

SAA  EE-SUNG  MUH-DEE-LEEM  NUH  ES-KEAN-KNEE-TUH

in a small and dark alley

REFRAIN 3

Lahat ng pangarap ko’y bigla lang natunaw

LUH-HAH-T  NUH-NG   PAH-NG-UH-RAAP  KOH-OY  BEE-GLAA  LUNG NUH-TOON-NOW

all my dreams suddenly melted


Sa panaginip na lang pala kita maisasayaw

SAA  PAA-NAA-GEE-KNEE-P  NUH  LUNG  PAH-LA  KEY-TUH  MAH-EE-SAA-YOWW ( yaw pronounced similar to wow )

[Repeat CHORUS twice]

CODA
La la la la, la la, la la, la la la [2x]

6 thoughts on “[MUSICDork]Huli na el Bimbo

  1. I have to admit, this is the first time I’ve seen Paraluman’s picture eventhough I’ve heard the song over a thousand times. And yes, she is beautiful.

    Personally, I love their song, Spolarium. The lyrics are murkier and reads more like something you’d read in an LSD letdown session.

  2. Tindahan ni Aling Nena was what put Eraserheads on the tracks to Pinoy rock legend status. It’s so weird hearing that song and compare them to more pristine and complicated (some say overproduced) songs of their later years.

    Nevertheless, their progression can be seen as a bell curve. They just went too experimental and weird that they alienated most of their listening public who expected rehashes of the Circus and Cutterpillow albums.

    How’re you doing re: managing a band? Did you leave eGames already?

    • the truth? ergh.. forgot I was a “manager” and got the business end of the emparador stick… Might blog about it but my friend isnt speaking to me at the moment. Im guessing, politically correct was not the theme of the night.

      and to answer the question the egames question.. I think a photoblog will be in order \m/

Leave a Reply

